WoLLIC 2018

25th Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation 

July 24th to 27th, 2018

Bogotá, Colombia

Scientific Sponsorship
Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics (IGPL)
The Association for Logic, Language and Information (FoLLI)
Association for Symbolic Logic (ASL)
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS)
European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL) 

ACM Special Interest Group on Logic and Computation (ACM-SIGLOG) (TBC)
Sociedade Brasileira de Computação (SBC)
Sociedade Brasileira de Lógica (SBL)

Departamento de Matemáticas, Universidad de los Andes, Colombia
Centro de Informática, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil 

Hosted by

Departamento de Matemáticas, Universidad de los Andes, Colombia

Call for Papers

WoLLIC is an annual international forum on inter-disciplinary research involving formal logic, computing and programming theory, and natural language and reasoning. Each meeting includes invited talks and tutorials as well as contributed papers. The twenty-fifth WoLLIC will be held at the Departamento de Matemáticas of the Universidad de los Andes, Bogotá, Colombia, from July 24th to 27th, 2018. It is sponsored by the Association for Symbolic Logic (ASL), the Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics (IGPL), the The Association for Logic, Language and Information (FoLLI), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), ACM Special Interest Group on Logic and Computation (ACM-SIGLOG) (TBC), the Sociedade Brasileira de Computação (SBC), and the Sociedade Brasileira de Lógica (SBL).

Paper submission
Contributions are invited on all pertinent subjects, with particular interest in cross-disciplinary topics. Typical but not exclusive areas of interest are: foundations of computing and programming; novel computation models and paradigms; broad notions of proof and belief; proof mining, type theory, effective learnability; formal methods in software and hardware development; logical approach to natural language and reasoning; logics of programs, actions and resources; foundational aspects of information organization, search, flow, sharing, and protection; foundations of mathematics; philosophy of mathematics; philosophical logic; philosophy of language. Proposed contributions should be in English, and consist of a scholarly exposition accessible to the non-specialist, including motivation, background, and comparison with related works. Articles should be written in the LaTeX format of LNCS by Springer (see authors instructions at http://www.springer.com/computer/lncs?SGWID=0-164-6-793341-0). They must not exceed 12 pages, with up to 5 additional pages for references and technical appendices. The paper's main results must not be published or submitted for publication in refereed venues, including journals and other scientific meetings. It is expected that each accepted paper be presented at the meeting by one of its authors. (At least one author is required to pay the registration fee before granting that the paper will be published in the proceedings.) Papers must be submitted electronically at the WoLLIC 2018 EasyChair website. (Please go to http://wollic.org/wollic2018/instructions.html for instructions.) A title and single-paragraph abstract should be submitted by Mar 11, 2018, and the full paper by Mar 18, 2018 (firm date). Notifications are expected by Apr 15, 2018, and final papers for the proceedings will be due by Apr 22, 2018 (firm date).

The proceedings of WoLLIC 2018, including both invited and contributed papers, will be published in advance of the meeting as a volume in Springer's LNCS series. In addition, abstracts will be published in the Conference Report section of the Logic Journal of the IGPL, and selected contributions will be published (after a new round of reviewing) as a special post-conference WoLLIC 2018 issue of Springer’s Journal of Logic, Language and Information.

Invited Speakers

Katalin Bimbo (Univ of Alberta, Canada)

Xavier Caicedo (Univ de Los Andes, Colombia)

José Meseguer (Univ of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA)

Elaine Pimentel (Univ Federal do Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil)

Guillermo Simari (Univ Nacional del Sur, Argentina)

Renata Wassermann (Univ de São Paulo, Brazil)

Student Grants
ASL sponsorship of WoLLIC 2018 will permit ASL student members to apply for a modest travel grant (deadline: May 1st, 2018). See http://www.aslonline.org/studenttravelawards.html for details.

Important Dates

Mar 11, 2018: Paper title and abstract deadline 

Mar 18, 2018: Full paper deadline 

Apr 15, 2018: Author notification

Apr 22, 2018: Final version deadline (firm)

Programme Committee

Siddharth Bhaskar (Haverford College, USA)

Torben Braüner (Roskilde University, Denmark)

Hazel Brickhill (University of Bristol, UK)

Michael Detlefsen (University of Notre Dame, USA)

Juliette Kennedy (University of Helsinki, Finland)

Sophia Knight (Uppsala University, Sweden)

Alex Kruckman (Indiana University, USA)

Maricarmen Martinez Baldares (Universidad de los Andes, Colombia)

Frederike Moltmann (CNRS, France)

Lawrence  Moss (Indiana University, USA) (CHAIR)

Cláudia Nalon (University of Brasília, Brazil)

Valeria de Paiva (Nuance Comms, USA, and University of Birmingham, UK)

Sophie Pinchinat (IRISA Rennes, France)

David Pym (University College London, UK)

Ruy de Queiroz (Univ Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil)

Revantha Ramanayake (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)

Giselle Reis (Carnegie Mellon University, Qatar)

Jeremy Seligman (The University of Auckland, New Zealand)

Yanjing Wang (Peking University, China)

Fan Yang (University of Helsinki, Finland)

Steering Committee

Samson Abramsky, Johan van Benthem, Anuj Dawar, Joe Halpern, Wilfrid Hodges, Juliette Kennedy, Ulrich Kohlenbach, Daniel Leivant, Leonid Libkin, Angus Macintyre, Luke Ong, Hiroakira Ono, Valeria de Paiva, Ruy de Queiroz, Jouko Väänänen. (Former Member: Grigori Mints (deceased).)

Organising Committee

Jaime A. Bohórquez (Escuela Colombiana de Ingeniería, Bogotá, Colombia)

Xavier Caicedo (Universidad de los Andes, Colombia) (Local co-chair)

Nicolás Cardozo (Universidad de los Andes, Bogotá, Colombia)

Maricarmen Martínez (Universidad de los Andes, Colombia) (Local co-chair)

Anjolina G. de Oliveira (Univ Federal de Pernambuco, Brasil) 

Ruy de Queiroz (Univ Federal de Pernambuco, Brasil) (co-chair)

Camilo Rocha (Universidad Javeriana, Cali, Colombia)

Further information
Contact one of the Co-Chairs of the Organising Committee.

Web page

Last modified: Mar 9, 2018, 10:27am GMT-3.