WoLLIC 2017

24th Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation 

July 18th-21st, 2017

London, UK


Please go to:


Scientific Sponsorship
Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics (IGPL)
The Association for Logic, Language and Information (FoLLI) ss
Association for Symbolic Logic (ASL)
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS)
European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL) 

ACM Special Interest Group on Logic and Computation (ACM-SIGLOG) (TBC)
Sociedade Brasileira de Computação (SBC)
Sociedade Brasileira de Lógica (SBL)

Department of Computer Science, University College London, London, UK

School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science, Queen Mary, London, UK
Centro de Informática, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil 

Hosted by

Department of Computer Science, University College London, London, UK

Call for Papers

WoLLIC is an annual international forum on inter-disciplinary research involving formal logic, computing and programming theory, and natural language and reasoning. Each meeting includes invited talks and tutorials as well as contributed papers. The twenty-fourth WoLLIC will be held at the Department of Computer Science, University College London, London, UK, from July 18th to 21st, 2017. It is sponsored by the Association for Symbolic Logic (ASL), the Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics (IGPL), the The Association for Logic, Language and Information (FoLLI), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), ACM Special Interest Group on Logic and Computation (ACM-SIGLOG) (TBC), the Sociedade Brasileira de Computação (SBC), and the Sociedade Brasileira de Lógica (SBL).

Paper submission
Contributions are invited on all pertinent subjects, with particular interest in cross-disciplinary topics. Typical but not exclusive areas of interest are: foundations of computing and programming; novel computation models and paradigms; broad notions of proof and belief; proof mining, type theory, effective learnability; formal methods in software and hardware development; logical approach to natural language and reasoning; logics of programs, actions and resources; foundational aspects of information organization, search, flow, sharing, and protection; foundations of mathematics; philosophy of mathematics; philosophical logic; philosophy of language. Proposed contributions should be in English, and consist of a scholarly exposition accessible to the non-specialist, including motivation, background, and comparison with related works. Articles should be written in the LaTeX format of LNCS by Springer (see authors instructions at http://www.springer.com/computer/lncs?SGWID=0-164-6-793341-0). They must not exceed 12 pages, with up to 5 additional pages for references and technical appendices. The paper's main results must not be published or submitted for publication in refereed venues, including journals and other scientific meetings. It is expected that each accepted paper be presented at the meeting by one of its authors. Papers must be submitted electronically at the WoLLIC 2017 EasyChair website. (Please go to http://wollic.org/wollic2017/instructions.html for instructions.) A title and single-paragraph abstract should be submitted by Mar 14, 2017, and the full paper by Mar 21, 2017 (firm date). Notifications are expected by Apr 22, 2017, and final papers for the proceedings will be due by May 6, 2017 (firm date).

The proceedings of WoLLIC 2017, including both invited and contributed papers, will be published in advance of the meeting as a volume in Springer's LNCS series. In addition, abstracts will be published in the Conference Report section of the Logic Journal of the IGPL, and selected contributions will be published as a special post-conference WoLLIC 2017 issue of a scientific journal (to be confirmed).

Invited Speakers

Hazel Brickhill (Bristol University, UK)

Michael Detlefsen (Univ of Notre Dame, USA)

Alexander Kurz (Univ Leicester, UK)

Friederike Moltmann (Univ Paris 1, France) 

Nicole Schweikardt (Humboldt Univ, Germany)

Fan Yang (Delft University, The Netherlands)

Boris Zilber (Oxford University, UK)

Student Grants
ASL sponsorship of WoLLIC 2017 will permit ASL student members to apply for a modest travel grant (deadline: May 1st, 2017). See http://www.aslonline.org/studenttravelawards.html for details.

Important Dates

Mar 14, 2017: Paper title and abstract deadline 

Mar 21, 2017: Full paper deadline 

Apr 22, 2017: Author notification

May 6, 2017: Final version deadline (firm)

Programme Committee

Matthias Baaz (University of Technology, Vienna, Austria)

John Baldwin (University of Illinois at Chicago, USA)

Dana Bartozová (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil)

Agata Ciabattoni (University of Technology, Vienna, Austria)

Walter Dean (University of Warwick, UK)

Erich Grädel (RWTH Aachen, Germany)

Volker Halbach (University of Oxford, UK)

Juliette Kennedy (Helsinki University, Finland) (Chair)

Dexter Kozen (Cornell University, USA)

Janos Makowsky (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel)

Larry Moss (indiana University, USA)

Alessandra Palmigiano (Delft University, The Netherlands)

Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (Queen Mary, UK)

Sonja Smets (Amsterdam University, The Netherlands)

Asger Törnquist (Københavns Universitet, Denmark)

Rineke Verbrugge (University of Groningen, The Netherlands)

Andrés Villaveces (Universidad Nacional, Colombia)

Philip Welch (University of Bristol, UK)

Steering Committee

Samson Abramsky, Johan van Benthem, Anuj Dawar, Joe Halpern, Wilfrid Hodges, Ulrich Kohlenbach, Daniel Leivant, Leonid Libkin, Angus Macintyre, Luke Ong, Hiroakira Ono, Valeria de Paiva, Ruy de Queiroz, Jouko Väänänen. (Former Member: Grigori Mints (deceased).)

Organising Committee

Alexandra Silva (Univ College London, UK) (Local co-chair)

Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (Queen Mary, UK) (Local co-chair)

Paulo Oliva (Queen Mary, UK)

James Brotherston (Univ College London, UK) 

Anjolina G. de Oliveira (U Fed Pernambuco) 

Ruy de Queiroz (U Fed Pernambuco) (co-chair)

Further information
Contact one of the Co-Chairs of the Organising Committee.

Web page

Last modified: November 23, 2016, 08:56am GMT-3.