WoLLIC 2014

21st Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation 

September 1st to 4th, 2014

Valparaiso, Chile

Scientific Sponsorship
Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics (IGPL)
The Association for Logic, Language and Information (FoLLI)
Association for Symbolic Logic (ASL)
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS)
European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL)
Sociedade Brasileira de Computação (SBC)
Sociedade Brasileira de Lógica (SBL)


Department of Computer Science, Universidad de Chile, Chile

Department of Computer Science, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile

Centro de Informática, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil 

Hosted by

Department of Informatics, Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María, Chile 

Call for Papers

WoLLIC is an annual international forum on inter-disciplinary research involving formal logic, computing and programming theory, and natural language and reasoning. Each meeting includes invited talks and tutorials as well as contributed papers. The twentieth WoLLIC will be held at the Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María, from September 1st to 4th, 2014. It is sponsored by the Association for Symbolic Logic (ASL), the Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics (IGPL), the The Association for Logic, Language and Information (FoLLI), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), the Sociedade Brasileira de Computação (SBC), and the Sociedade Brasileira de Lógica (SBL).

Paper submission
Contributions are invited on all pertinent subjects, with particular interest in cross-disciplinary topics. Typical but not exclusive areas of interest are: foundations of computing and programming; novel computation models and paradigms; broad notions of proof and belief; proof mining, type theory, effective learnability; formal methods in software and hardware development; logical approach to natural language and reasoning; logics of programs, actions and resources; foundational aspects of information organization, search, flow, sharing, and protection. Proposed contributions should be in English, and consist of a scholarly exposition accessible to the non-specialist, including motivation, background, and comparison with related works. They must not exceed 10 pages (in font 10 or higher), with up to 5 additional pages for references and technical appendices. The paper's main results must not be published or submitted for publication in refereed venues, including journals and other scientific meetings. It is expected that each accepted paper be presented at the meeting by one of its authors. Papers must be submitted electronically at the WoLLIC 2014 EasyChair website. (Please go to http://wollic.org/wollic2014/instructions.html for instructions.) A title and single-paragraph abstract should be submitted by Mar 24, 2014, and the full paper by Mar 28, 2014 (firm date). Notifications are expected by May 2, 2014, and final papers for the proceedings will be due by May 15, 2014 (firm date).

The proceedings of WoLLIC 2014, including both invited and contributed papers, will be published in advance of the meeting as a volume in Springer's LNCS series. In addition, abstracts will be published in the Conference Report section of the Logic Journal of the IGPL, and selected contributions will be published as a special post-conference WoLLIC 2014 issue of a scientific journal (to be confirmed).

Invited Speakers

Verónica Becher (U Buenos Aires)

Juha Kontinen (U Helsinki)

Aarne Ranta (U Gothenburg)

Kazushige Terui (U Kyoto)

Luca Viganò (King’s College London)

Thomas Wilke (U Kiel)

Student Grants
ASL sponsorship of WoLLIC 2014 will permit ASL student members to apply for a modest travel grant (deadline: May 1st, 2014). See http://www.aslonline.org/studenttravelawards.html for details.

Important Dates

Programme Committee

Natasha Alechina (U Nottingham) 

Eric Allender (Rutgers U) 

Marcelo Arenas (PUC Chile) 

Steve Awodey (CMU) 

Stefano Berardi (U Torino) 

Julian Bradfield (U Edinburgh) 

Xavier Caicedo (U de Los Andes) 

Olivier Danvy (Aarhus U) 

Hans van Ditmarsch (LORIA) 

Ulrich Kohlenbach (Tech U Darmstadt) (CHAIR) 

Marcus Kracht  (U Bielefeld)

Michiel van Lambalgen (U Amsterdam)

Klaus Meer (Tech U Cottbus) 

George Metcalfe (Bern U) 

Dale Miller (INRIA Saclay / LIX) 

Russell Miller (CUNY) 

Sara Negri (U Helsinki) 

Grigory Olkhovikov (Ural Fed U) 

Nicole Schweikardt  (U Frankfurt) 

Sebastiaan Terwijn (Radboud U Nijmegen) 

Steering Committee

Organising Committee

Further information
Contact one of the Co-Chairs of the Organising Committee.

Web page

Last modified: Dec 9, 2013 06:29pm GMT-3.